A Hotel, Also A Home?

hotel papandayan

What’s wrong with this picture? Well, it’s an ad of a hotel (that’s for sure) that advertises hotel that feels like home. In Indonesia, we didn’t have a word for home, which is different with house, so I could say that in Indonesian language a home is a house (“rumah”, can’t find another appropriate word for it).

They say home is where the heart is and house is just a building (also a TV serial), but in Indonesia the tagline “feels like home” is felt wrong somehow. Why did I want to spend my day or time or etc, especially my money in a hotel if I could get it (any kind of “it”) for free in my home (unless home is where all the stress in life came from ^_^).

Leave a Reply

