Try The Other Side

…It reminds me of that scene at the end of the The Thing From Another World. Have you seen that picture? Fantastic movie. One of my favorites…This reminds me of that ending where all those humans had the monster surrounded and even the creature realizes that there’s no escaping now.

The tears were running down my cheeks as I watched that scene. It was at that precise moment that I realized what I was, you see. That I understood my place in the world.

 

Magneto, Ultimate X Men TPB No. 6 “Return of the King”

After my latest blog about Ryan the butcher from Jombang which is kinda personal angst for me in some way, somehow I was stricken by the fact how I put myself in some position to defend the butcher rather than feel some sympathy to the victim. Since I believe that there are 2 sides for every story, I decide to try to look from the other side, the victim side this time. Some reverse psychology experiment so I could cover both sides (or at least pretends to).

And what is reverse psychology if U asks? Well, quote it from wikipedia, than “Reverse psychology is a persuasion technique involving the advocacy of a belief or behavior that is opposite to the one desired, with the expectation that this approach will encourage the subject of the persuasion to do what actually is desired: the opposite of what is suggested. This technique relies on the psychological phenomenon of reactance, in which a person has a negative emotional response in reaction to being persuaded, and thus chooses the option which is being advocated against” or let me put it this way, if someone said, “Don’t touch the red button” deep within our sub-conscious we believe that what that person really meant is, “press it, it’s fun” or “I don’t want U to touch it cuz it’s fun & U won’t get that amusement he he” (a li’l bit out of topic though).

Back to topic, I don’t know if it’s just me, but I have the tendency to have some sympathy for the guy who did the “action” (the killer, the butcher, or antagonist in movie such as Dracula, Frankenstein, etc). I don’t know why but maybe cuz somehow I believe that there’s a reason for every action that they made (and just like my previous blog, it takes some ground-breaking event for someone to do something “that” radical). And maybe just like Magneto, I placed myself as a misfit for society.

Perfect example to feel some sort of sorry for the wrong doers

Then again, it happens in the movie too, so I guess I’m not the one who put my sympathy for this “wrong-doers”. Look at vampire movie, we feel sorry for them cuz they lost their soul and live for eternity and they are lonely (in exchange for that? I gladly sell my soul) or in Godzilla, when the beast was killed at the end of the movie, I felt that the world is unfair cuz Godzilla done nothing wrong, she (if it’s have sex orientation) just follow her animal instinct and unfortunately New York was the ideal spot to breed.

And just like the beginning of my blog, I think it’s not fair for the victim, so we have to see from other point of view. Unlike every other scientifically experiment or thesis, I’m too lazy to conduct some research, thus I just try to take some conclusion from the source that do exactly what I do (sympathy for the devil or the wrong-doer), yep, movies. In movies, most film depicted the devil (just to make it straight, from now on we call this antagonist as “the devil”) also as victim of some circumstances that drive them to do the things they do (which somehow turn into some forgiveness for the act they did?????) It became some stereotypical somehow for a horror movie to have this kinda plot. I found it hard to find some movie (horror, slashed, thriller, etc) that put some thought on how the victim would feel, how the victim was portrayed as helpless creature pitted against some freak of nature.

Nice film that see things from the other side, the victim side

On my quest I found some movie that actually put some thought on the victim such as 30 Days of Night and Cloverfield. That movie really tells U how the victim feels. How the victim didn’t know what went wrong, did they deserve what’s coming for them, are they just wrong guy in the wrong time. Don’t U just hate it when U don’t have any control whatsoever in U’re life and U can’t blame anything or anyone even God himself is something U can’t blame if this thing actually happens to U. I found the scene where the victim in 30 Days of Night prayed to God to save her from the pack of vampire and the vampire leader said “God? No God” with a straight face. That scene really hits me in the face, that the evil also a victim (of some circumstances) which turn them as the devil (since God also didn’t acknowledged them).

It’s kinda like the way we look at street prostitute or stripper, most people tends to judge them as bad person. Me, I need to know what drives them to do their “job”, if it’s for the sake of her family, they just as holy as a saint, at least in my eyes, cuz I, as a person didn’t have the competency to judge, I’m just a human, like them, like U. Only God can judge us (if he exist that is). So, in the end I really didn’t know which party should bear the mark “guilty” since we all are nothing but victim of circumstances. The thin red line could only break by the degree of loss that felt by the parties. I guess if some party is suffer more than the other one, we should put our sympathy for them.

Leave a Reply

