Death, A Taste Of Things To Come

”Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life,”

“Because almost everything — all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure — these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important.”

“Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.”

Steve Jobs – Stanford commencement ceremony in 2005

With the death of Steve Jobs last almost everywhere his death became the most talk about topic world wide (in twitter language, trending topic ^_^), his obituary, accomplishment, history, CV even quotes is flooding the market. As annoying as it is, I found some of his quotes really inspiring, Some that I remember the most is “Good artist copy, great artist steals” (awesome quote Stevie) and ”Boom, click, amazing” (either this guy is genius or just too excited I don’t know he he). What makes me give my highest respect is about his knowledge that his time in this God-forsaken world are numbered. Somehow he embraced the fact that he is going to die (due to the pancreas cancer illness circa 2003) with edgy attitude just like Batman he embrace the darkness as part of his life.

So, since almost everyone already paid tribute & other form of compliment to the man with passion (check his presentation of any product he presents, damn U can tell he’s in love & truly believe in all of his works such as ipod, ipad, etc), I was thinking ‘bout the way he embraced death. Yeah, somehow death really makes me think about it.

Steve himself said, even people who wants to go to heaven afraid of death. But like it or not, death is one of those thing that got into the category of “certainty” in this world full of uncertainty. We can’t escape death, so why bother try to resist it, resistance is futile.

I remember when my working colleague, Mr. Budi died (Rest In Peace bro, not rest in pieces he he) & his son asked why did he was placed on the ground & buried (I overheard it). I don’t know the answer that were given by his wife to that boy but somehow I put myself in that place and I will said that everything have some expired date or just like battery that if the battery is run-out…dead. I know it’s not the most comforting idea but something must go that way..the hard way.

I think it’s kinda harsh for kids to learn the hard way (though we can’t protect them forever but I guess I have to find others way to say it that suitable for kids), thus I came out with an analogy of candle. Yeah, that should suit it. A candle has a purpose. A candle should’ve burn in order to fulfill its purpose, though it means that the candle is gonna burn-out and finished. If a candle is not burned, it only serves as an ornament, it’s not wrong but it means it deny its fate as a candle (it’s only another way to die anyway).

Don’t see it the wrong way, it’s a noble thing for the candle to “sacrifice” himself cuz in his act of sacrificial he shines a light, illuminating other also give way for other candle to also fulfill its purpose. So, as a human, we all have our own purpose, a reason why we were brought into this cesspool of universe, something more than just to live a life but to give some contribution to our surrounding (wow, I must be woke up in the wrong side of the bed since I could babbling this kinda $hit ^_^). Then again, whether we live the right way or not, we can’t tell, but one thing for sure don’t live others life for U, U only live once, make it one hell of a ride so when the time comes to close the curtain, U won’t feel some regret (sure there will be some, but not much that makes U feel sorry for Ur petty life that is).

Guess all we do is try everything and hope that we finally found our purpose, our calling (I guess my girlfriend already found that she wants to be a teacher or sort lucky for her & I kinda envy her he he). Sooo, yeah, since death is inevitable, all we could do just try to live our life to the fullest…& since I hate to be some sort of wise guy (it makes me look really old he he) I just try to quote Stevie word of wisdom such as this (image courtesy of others that I forgot who ^_^).

RIP Stevie, though I’m not a strong Apple provocateur, I always admire Ur way of life, Ur product (which U have great faith in it, I only hates ipod cuz he didn’t install FM radio on his gadget he he he) or Ur quote. If most of U didn’t know how great this guy is, click here to see why for most of us he is one of the most influential people of our time (or check his other presentation, this dude is awesome). Miss U already dude. Thnx to showed me that death is a taste of things to come that we shouldn’t be scared of. “And yet, death is the destination we all share. No one has ever escaped it. …death is very likely the single best invention of life. It’s life’s change agent; it clears out the old to make way for the new …Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.”

2 thoughts on “Death, A Taste Of Things To Come

Leave a Reply

