If It’s Makes You Happy, It Can’t Be That Bad? The Vostok love story

I already wrote my love for Vostok on my previous blog, but somehow I just can’t get enough of it ha ha. So, I sell my old Komanderskie for Rp. 300.000,- (approximately $25) and bought another Vostok, this time the well-known amphibian for Rp. 321.000,- (approximately $25), but somehow some Komanderskie also look just like this, the Vostok Men’s Komandirskie Automatic Wristwatch Russia Watch Submarine # 921163. But yeah, the back case on this watch showing amphibia logo though, and it’s a Vostok anyway. So I guess this is a win-win bargain.

The watch is “good condition” with minor defect such as dirty spot on the glass, scratch here & there, also the water resistant is “weird” or inconsistent sometimes it seal tight but the other time leaked. But compared to my previous watch, this watch is waaaaay better.

 

Amphibia writing on the back case
Amphibia writing on the back case

I decided to fix the watch, clean the glass & tighten the seal. But somehow I stumble on the net about “legendary” amphibian that wore by Steve Zissou in the movie “The Life Aquatic With Steve Zissou”. The movie is weird & not for everyone, but it’s a cult classic, also the watch wore by him is very nice.

878543d1353138760-fs-vostok-amphibia-steve-zissou-still-bill-murray-life-aquatic-steve-zissou-large-picture
The sighting of the famous watch he he

So I bought a new dial that exactly looks like Zissou’s, and I can’t be more happy he he. I buy it on a great seller on ebay that you can find here.

 

Just like my previous blog, Vostok basically is “just” a watch, a mediocre or budget friendly watch to be blunt. But it’s a good watch, a great beater watch with a distinctive style of its own. Many people love this watch for what it is. A watch that tells time, reliable, tough, quirky and cheap.And you can modified it any way you want it, because its cheap. I already saw custom bezel, custom dial, or even put the machine into other watch body. Go crazy, surprise yourself.

Switch strap. Makes it bad @$$

If you can find a new one with good quality, I urge you to buy it, you won’t be disappointed if you’re a watch aficionado, or just wondering what diver watch you should buy for the sake of curiosity. This ain’t Rolex, or even Seiko, but if its makes you happy (and its not a bad thing), it can’t be that bad he he.

Awesome little watch
2 thoughts on “If It’s Makes You Happy, It Can’t Be That Bad? The Vostok love story

Leave a Reply

