Poljot Chronograph Cal 3133, Very Comfortable

Well, I stumbled upon a cool vintage watch Poljot Classic Chronograph 3133. And as an avid fan of USSR, Soviet or Russian, this is really intriguing ha ha. The seller told that the in-beat still good, Chronograph is works and of course the all satisfying reset to zero flyback Chronograph.

FFF128D6-3BAA-4677-9DE2-2A0E83B11D2F
Felt good somehow

Poljot cal 3133 movement is based onn Swiss Valjoux 7734, high-beat 21600 bph power reserve 60 hour (if this baby works perfectly though). This machine is known for Soviet space mission and military and holds record for longest usage on space. Why did all Soviet/Russian goods have that macho army vibe I don’t know ha ha. It probably just me.

Here are the specs:
– Movement Poljot cal 3133
– Diameter 38mm, 40 mm lug to crown, thickness 11mm
– Stainless Steel Back
– Power Reserve 60 Hours
– Lug 18mm

First impression is weird because seeing any type gold on the watch is almost a No-No for me (it emits old man persona or something ^_^) but for the prize (Rp. 1,740.000,- or approximately $125) this is really cheap, especially considering most people sold this baby above Rp. 2.500.000,- (approximately $178). So…I just have to snatch it and hopefully if I don’t like it I can sell it with more “proper” market prize.

Oh, forgot one thing, this movement basically the same with my previous Seagull 1963 that I had to sell due for the kids school needs he he. One thing that I don’t like from my Seagull is the thickness of it. It is somehow like a magnet to bumped into something due to its thickness. But somehow this old vintage watch have 11mm thickness and it seats very comfortable on my 6,5 inch wrist.

 

 

Wow, this watch is really…comfortable if I have to described it. It really like a missing puzzle that fits within my wrist. Maybe it’s the lizard strap that helps it but wow this is really comfortable. It’s light but not in a cheap way, it is quite silent though if you put your ear close to it you can hear the satisfying high-beat ticking.

FA70E15B-7415-4D3C-9888-646FD2943D8E

Maybe the aging isn’t for everyone but somehow I love it. It makes the watch more…historical or maybe like a wine that gets better as it gets older, or like a watch that had seen it all and through rite of passage become mature. Never knew I can feel this way for a watch ha ha. As if all the design choices fits perfectly on my wrist.

What about water resistant? Well, this is vintage watch!! You’re not gonna push your grandpa into a pool knowing that it might harm him right? That’s how it works for watch also ha ha. This is strictly dress watch I guess.

37412C9D-16B5-4116-AA8E-7B18D9FEF8EA
There;s a crack or break in the chronograph dial that kinda visible

One part that is really concerning me is the chronograph feature. It can only turn on if you wind it to it’s full capacity and it sometimes stutter. Well, it’s a vintage I guess, the fact that it still works is quite fascinating ha ha. But yeah, the fly-back hands is always mesmerizing to see.

I’ll admit that the date window is kinda…annoying to say the least, but it is acceptable (though seeing a bright white window on the black dial is really striking and eye catching. Now I know why Panda dial is very interesting for most people. It is really apple for the eye and symmetrically good probably. This is kinda makes me miss that Seagull but This Poljot is waaay more comfortable.

Oh, also this Chronograph is a classic style and if you wondering, hey, I can buy Mecha-Quartz that feels and looks exactly like this…well it is in some way…wrong. Most manual or automatic chronograph still has the second dial with the sweeping motion that tells you “hey!!! I’m not Quartz” he he. Undone with Seiko movement or Parnis, didn’t have second dial. They mostly have 24 hour (why? Who needed this?) and 1 minute dial. But yeah, most people don’t use Chronograph for the feature, but because it is cool he he.

C7DE0F16-7433-4623-947C-3ED23F294358
But this is the most important thing most for you if you wanna buy this watch, or every other vintage watch is…be gentle. As a vintage watch, I always get that fragile feeling even though as Russian watch, it supposed to be tough. But yeah, Chronograph movement is delicate, fragile or weak ha ha. I always have some interest in Chronograph but I always found it quite a hassle to treat them like some precious thing ha ha. Probably I prefer tool watch but yeah. Chronograph is always cool ha ha.

So, final word about this watch is…awesome. This probably the most comfortable watch I ever wear. The dimension, the size, everything in this watch is really as if the watch is tailor-suit for me. But yeah, I probably sell it if I need money he he.

One thought on “Poljot Chronograph Cal 3133, Very Comfortable

Leave a comment