Poljot 3133 Restoration

Well, turned out, my lovely Poljot is broken down, it must be the guy who sold it put a low proce ha ha. This revelation  hits me right in the eye ha ha. As if I deliberately deny the possibility of due to the low price, maybe the guy really just need some money ha ha.

But all in all, the gold in the case (though it’s kinda rusty and leave an aging process which is cool) is really bugging me. I just don’t like it I guess. But I don’t wanna lose another mechanical Chronograph so I decided to “upgrade” my Poljot and I bought a new case and dial form ebay to accompany the upgrade.

FullSizeRender-1-1347x1220.jpg
Hopefully the final product is amazing
FullSizeRender-2-1445x1791-1083x1342.jpg
This the part that were replaced he he

He he. Glad that my nearest recommended watchman did the replacement or swapping process for a very low price…Rp. 20.000,- (approximately $1,5). And it only took half an hour to do the process.

PhotoPictureResizer_190923_083906377_crop_2419x3226-1814x2419-1360x1814.jpg
And this is the final product….

FullSizeRender-1624x1624.jpg
Very beautiful but something is….wrong

And you probably see that the chronograph hand didn’t align on 12 like its supposed to…also that hand it “broken” according to my watchman. And somehow the watch didn’t work properly like before. Thus I ask another watchman that sadly live in the other city and he said send it to me, Ill check it….and the results ain’t pretty.

From the picture, there are parts that is broken and needed to be replaced, along with the chronograph hand. I fear the price will be a nightmare.

6451A1EB-03DE-4D11-AADE-95C069CE6BCA
Many damages this watch endure

Gladly the guy really do magic and the price is, fair to be exact. Rp. 300,000- or approximately $21,23 he he. And this is the final product.

8420D166-8735-455A-9471-E79B3F33CE57
Well, the chronograph hand is..weird and didn’t flyback to 12..exactly

But still this is quite a restoration ha ha. The case is became more beautiful, and this is a quick review of it.  (though the thickness is added to became), these are some of my lovely Poljot spec:

  • New cases, polished stainless steel with diameter approximately 39mm, thickness approximately 13mm, lug to lug distance approximately 44mm with lug width 18mm
  • acrylic dome crystal
  • New dial so white it makes the watch bigger ha ha
  • New crown and chronograph crown that makes the push of the chronograph “clicky” and felt really good
  • New chronograph hands but it is a means to an end because it’s not really fit into the other hands but it do the work well ha ha
  • Power reserve approximately 40 hour

Well, to be honest, the watch almost exactly like the old one. It felt good, it’s comfortable but somehow it feels sturdy or…like I could beat it ha ha (though the water resistant is really…let just say I won’t wash dishes with this one). Somehow I feel more attachment than my previous Seagull 1963 which felt fragile (though it isn’t). I felt that this watch is something I can do to do stupid things with ha ha.

5BF53FD8-B524-4883-9A86-E85EBDB23EF5
The thickness is really in slim area. Really good
CCCE96A2-3C1D-4A9B-A4D9-79D890404D86
Check the dome….love it

Seriously, I can’t understand why people wear a watch bigger than 42mm. My favorite watch Steinhart is getting “too” big because I fell in love with more smaller watch that felt like a sweet spot. This Poljot even makes me feel that Steinhart too big ha ha. Or maybe its the fact that my wrist is small he he. But yeah, this is a keeper. If I want to change something, is the fact that the date complication is kinda  nuisance because it is hard to change the date (no exact or proper or dedicated crown position to quick change so you have to manually wind the minute hand 24 hour to change the date). But yeah, this watch is awesome he he.