Sanda 9031, The Smaller Cartier Tank Homage

Cartier Tank, an icon, a legend, an enigma shrouded in mystery. This watch is one of the most desirable watch in the world but some people just hesitate to get it for the main reason…the notorious size. Cartier tank is too small for some man (even some called it woman size), even the XL size.

But then again, what is too small? Muhammad Ali showed us that real man can wear it, and more man shows that this watch is unisex, and if you confidence to wear it, who cares if people said it’s too small. And for a connoisseur of small watch, this is right in my alley.

Another con of this watch is…the movement. For a Quartz watch (sure there are automatic movement), the price is insane, especially since people consider Cartier as fashion watch (not enthusiast or specialized brand). Which I wholeheartedly agree, I always have this mindset that automatic should’ve priced higher due to its more complexity movement.

Thus, homage is the way to go if you can’t visit authorized Cartier dealer, just to have the taste of things to come (or just don’t wanna waste huge amount of cash for this watch), akternative is the way to go. And thanks to fellow watch communities, I found a low cost homage called Sanda from China that kinda highlly recommended.

And just like Cartier itself, the size is really confusing for inexperience person. Rectangle watch have tendency to be bigger, thus the sizing of the watch will be tricky, like some people thinks that Cartier tank extra-large even too big while for some it’s too small. Sanda have to size, the large one Sanda 1108 and the smaller one 9031. The Chinese seller categorized it as man and women watch (kinda like sold pair watch but sold separately).

Lazy homage indeed

After seeing the review by other watch enthusiast, most review Sanda 1108, after realize that the large one have 20mm strap, as a small watch connoisseur, I double down on my somehow preferred strap size, the 18mm (though the site said that the size is 17mm but yeah, it counts). Thus I ordered the smaller option with a worried that it might be too small, even for my taste, but I have this weird enlightenment that if it’s too small, you can wear it as bracelet or I could gave it to my wife (like my previous Titus he he).

The difference is subtle but make a huge impact for wrist presence

Finally the watch came, and the specs are :

  • Width 24mm (27mm including crow)
  • Lug to Lug 30mm
  • Thickness 6mm
  • Lug width 18mm
  • Case Alloy Chrome Plated (Back case Stainless Steel)
  • Mineral Crystal glass
  • Water Resistant 3 Bar
  • Quartz Epson PC20S
  • Genuine Leather Strap? With Buckle Stainlees Steel model cartier tank solo


The package is just a simple plastic with Sanda brand on it, nothing to write home about. What matters is the watch and it somehow…deliver? I mean the first glance is awesome. This watch is almost an exact replica of Cartier tank solo, no doubt about it. I never had problem with homage until I came to the bottom tier of homage (cheap territory) and somehow this watch is probably on that level, an almost exact replica, though for some this is a good thing (taste of things to come or a test drive before buying the real one). But the devil in the details and then you knew why the price is cheap he he. Let’s disect this watch shall we.

Actually really, really good

I mean, this watch is faithful (lazy) homage and for some a good thing, but all the pros and cons applied. First, the movement, though it’s actually quite good (Epson is like some sister group of Seiko) and the absence of second hand actually make the whole looks more “sophisticated” in some way. The fact that the movement is a dedicated two hands (no second hand) is actually a good thing, it makes the kinda cluttered dial (that weird Romanian numbers which kinda tilted to left in the 6-9 area is makes me feel icky at first). Sure the ticking sound is there (it is quartz after all) but it subtle that you might not hear it unless you put it in your ear.

My first complain is the strap, it’s not like the strap is bad, for a watch this price, the “genuine leather” surprisingly comfortable, my complain is the size. This watch have 17mm strap (the bigger one have 19mm) and my existing 18mm strap, nato, perlon is not compatible with this watch, so unless it is leather (a thin one) it won’t adapt well with this watch. Don’t know how, the position of the lug make it hard to fit 18mm strap. And the crazy part is, my 16mm strap is too small for this ha ha.

Fit well with my 17cm wrist

Some would be hesitant due to the fact that the case is not stainless steel (only the back case stainless) but if you treat it as a dress watch, you won’t have a problem of rusting and paint chipped or the mineral glass is shattered. Water resistant? Not really believe the 30m water resistant ha ha. But this is quite a watch. Me? I’m gonna abuse this baby like my other watch ha ha. The price won’t make me feel sad if it’s broken.

The only part that is stainless, the back case ha ha

Honestly, it is hard to make a review of this watch (probably also review Cartier watch as a “fashion watch”), this watch specifically is nothing special, but at least it is above average, especially for the price. This watch is the epitome of all style no substance but in a good way. What can I say, if you don’t wanna waste big pile of money for Cartier tank, this is the alternative, a good one I might add. So, if you wanna know why every watch enthusiast thinks Cartier tank is awesome, you could tell by yourself. For me, this watch is beautiful and awesome. Thanks Cartier for the design he he.

Not too shabby for me eh? Really nice

Leave a comment