Tavoric, the JDM Sub Military Homage

I already have a Blancpain Fifty Fathom Homage, The very good Steeldive 1952 to replace my once previous holygrail Steinhart. Steeldive have all the check marks but still that Rolex influence somehow still makes me want something familiar like that. So when somehow I stumble this watch…it’s kinda like wow! I like it!!! Really, really really really like it.

Seems nice right?

This watch is called Tavoric, a Japanese domestic market watch. It’s really hard to find info on this watch. Maybe most of it is in Japanese and even some of it only tells a story rather than review it. Gladly there is one YouTube channel who reviewed it that makes me feel…yeah this watch is OK. And I bought it he he. This is a well used watch IMHO. And oh, it seems that I bought the watch from the guy who makes YouTube video of it he he.

So yeah, first thing first, specification:

  • Miyota 9015 movement. Highbeat 28.800 Bpm with hacking function
  • 40mm diameter, 48mm including crown
  • 48mm lug to lug
  • 11mm thickness
  • unidirectional bezel
  • 100m water resistant
  • Saphire glass

First thing I realize when I held this watch is….it is light, almost like a cheap watch ha ha. Probably this is the type of watch that were sell in department store (imagine watch from Target, Walmart or any non serious watch store), it looks like an expensive watch but the devil is in details. And the faux facade is crumbled immediately. It doesn’t feel firm or…tough or something, kinda fragile a little. But don’t get me wrong, it still feels solid, it’s just felt…not a beater watch.

It doesn’t mean the watch is bad, on contrary, this watch feels like a middle class person if watch have hierarchy (and yes watch have hierarchy). This watch isn’t bad but isn’t good, mediocre? Not really. I mean, the movement itself is wonderful, high beat Miyota. On par with my previous Steinhart OVM in terms of performance, but yeah, not the most refined or well decorated or even silent movement (the rotation rotor sometimes could be heard) but nonetheless, in movement department, this watch shines brightly. But…there is a but, Miyota 9015 is a lower class of Miyota so yeah, the winding isn’t satisfying, the crown kinda wobbly, even the dial kinda move a little (maybe need a service since it’s been a while or this watch already have more than five years since production, 10 years if my calculation is right), etc…still to see the smooth sweeping is satisfying ha ha. Thank God for that.

Nice movement, with some identity

Sadly everything else besides movement is kinda tumbling down. The glass is probably mineral (though in Japanese website mentioned it is saphire but….I don’t know) and it is flat (this is the first time flat glass makes the watch kinda dull for me, maybe dome watch will make it better). Sure it makes the watch thin but aesthetically is dull nonetheless. The dial is minimalist, even the upper side is almost blank, the logo and information is on the under part of dial. Honestly it looks good but somehow…bland. No lume whatsoever but the patina is…beautiful somehow. As if the 10 years old watch have it shares of adventure from previous user.

The bezel action is solid, 120 clicks with smooth rotation. Maybe for some people, the green Kermit is beautiful, but for me kinda hard to find a suitable straps, at least in color department, but it has it charms. The back case also cool. Tavoric logo is implemented in nice orderly fashion (Tavoric has cool logo though).

The size itself is classic Rolex, almost exact replica of submil Rolex like my previous Steinhart. With sword hands and what I consider perfect size for most people (20mm strap, 40mm diameter, a classic Rolex). This is the sweet spot for almost everyone. And the thickness…Miyota movement made the case so thin, it is marvelous.

Thin like supermodel in the old days he he

Honestly, due to the lightness, sometimes I forgot I wear a watch, either this is a good thing or a bad thing depends on your preference, thus comfortability factor is a plus. And this watch could be dressed-up or dressed down, though honestly dressed down is more likely since this watch is kinda “cheap” if you look it from near distance he he. But yeah this is a good watch.

To sum it all, this is a good watch, not a great watch. Honestly, if I have the budget, I wanna switch this movement into a difference case he he. The only great things about this watch is the sweeping seconds, the movement itself speak confidence ha ha. It’s kinda like have a small modest city car but with an engine that actually can race. But sometimes as if the movement seems out of place. Maybe because it is an old watch thus it doesn’t preserve the firm or classic style of Rolex submariner style, but then again, the sweeping second hands is a bliss to watch and somehow it is all that matters to me (though I’m still kinda wanna swap this movement into another submarinet style case.

Leave a comment